Skip to content

Image History#

The Image History allows you to manage Clarisse image history. The history is an application wide list of renders that have be computed during an interactive session. Using the Image History widget, you can select, rename, save, lock, delete individual images stored in the history.

Note

By default, the history is not cached to disk so each time the application is closed, the history is lost. However it is possible to cache the history to disk. For more information please refer to Image History Cache

Image History

The Image History widget

(1) Image Thumbnail (2) Image history name (3) Image Source (4) Render Time (5) Image Resolution (6) Image Time (7) AOVs (8) Lock

Note

When an image defines AOVs then its AOVs field is set to Yes.

Image Thumbnail#

The thumbnail allows you to preview a specific entry in the image history. You can increase of decrease thumbnail size using Ctrl +mouse-wheel.

Note

Double-clicking a thumbnail opens the image in a new Image View.

Renaming Image#

Each entry has a name that can be edited as well as the path to the image item in the project. To rename an image, select it in the history and press F2. Alternatively, you can Right Button and select Rename from the pop up menu.

Locking/Unlocking Images#

Sometimes, it can be useful to lock images so they are not accidentally deleted or removed automatically from the list. As the image history is a finite FIFO (first in, first out) list, images can be automatically removed from the list when the number of images in the history is too high.

Please remember that you can set the size of the history in the Preferences panel. Go to Edit > Preferences > Image History to set Image History Size.

To lock an image simply click on its lock field (8). Repeat the operation to unlock it.

Removing Images#

To permanently remove an image from the history, select the image you want to remove and press Del. Alternatively, you can use the pop up menu.

Saving Images#

To save an image, just select, Right Button to display the pop up menu and choose Save.

Image History Mode#

By default the image history automatically stores the final image each time it is fully rendered in the Image View.

It is possible to change this behavior to manually store images to the history by going to Edit > Preferences > Image History and setting Image History Mode to Manual instead of Automatic.

When the image history is set to manual you have to explicitly click to Save Render Snapshot in the Image View or press Space+S to add the current render of the Image View to the history.

Image History Cache#

By default, the Image History content is lost when the application is lost. It is possible to change this behavior so that the content of the entire Image History is automatically stored to disk.

To enable/disable image history caching, go to Edit > Preferences > Image History and check Image History Autosave. Make sure to properly set the Image History Cache Path to a folder where Clarisse can save the image caches.

Mode Description
Image History Cache Path Define the path where the images of the history will be saved.
Image History Cache Max Count Define the maximum images that will be saved to disk. The cache will favor saving latest rendered images.
Image History Cache Max Size Define the maximum disk size allocated to the image history cache.
Clear History Cache on Exit Set if the cache should be cleared when the user quits the application. In the event of a application crash the cache isn't be cleared.
Clear History Cache on New Project Set if the cache should be cleared when the user creates a new session using File > New or File > Open.